Tre Lost

Bangkok #2

So far I am having a great time in Bangkok. Yesterday I woke up ungodly early and made my way to the train station where I bought my train Ticket to Chiang Mai in the north where it is much cooler. Later I meet up with Anna (a girl I met on the plane who worked the same year of SRT as I did) we wandered around doing the touristy things.

We visited Wat Pho, home to the Reclining Buddha – a massive gold Buddha with mother of pearl feet- inside the temple the sound of small coins dropping into metal drums fills the air and is an amazing soundtrack to the breathtaking Buddha.

After exploring the rest of the Wat, we took a small ferry across the river to Wat Arun, a tall Wat with narrow staircases you climb to the top. It reminded me of the Mayan temples in Guatemala. At Wat Arun we met a girl from Cuppertino who had quit her job at Merrill Lynch just before the economy hit the fan and had come to Thailand to get certified in Yoga instruction. I have met a lot of people who are traveling because they have lost or quit their job.

Anna and I got desperately lost trying to get back to my hostel when I started getting heat stroke. But, as usual, getting lost turned out to be a good thing, it took us through a great part of town where guys were working on the most getto-tastic electronics ever. We made it safely back to my hostel and I went directly to bed. I’m feeling much better now that I have had good nights sleep, cool water, and emergen-C. My stomach doesn’t seem to want to eat food, not even the stuff I brought with me, so I am going to give it a day to get used to the heat and humidity.

I leave this evening for Chiang Mai where it should be a bit cooler. When I get there I am hoping to find a place to upload new pictures to Flickr.

Gear Note:
The bed pad I brought was the best idea ever. The beds here are just as hard as the ones in China and the pad makes it very comfortable to sleep.

3 comments on “Bangkok #2

  1. Dawson
    February 28, 2009

    Hey,

    I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying reading your blogs. Let’s me live vicariously through your adventures. Hope the cooler climate helps your appetite. *big hugs*

    Love,
    Your Little Bro

  2. Aunt Eileen
    February 28, 2009

    I just got caught up with your RSS… was in Houston with Sonia so Alan and Rosemary could go ski at Tahoe.
    Have a wonderful time. Will you spend time in Japan? If so, I have some suggestions from my time there in the dark ages.

  3. Mich
    March 1, 2009

    WARNING: Beds in Vietnam are harder than rocks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2009 by in Thailand, Travel and tagged , , , , .
